Vietnamese Braised Pork and Eggs (Thit Heo Kho)


This dish is my all time favorite.  If I could choose a Vietnamese dish that brings back fond memories of my family, it would have to be Thit Kho.  As a child, I didn’t treasure all the home cooking my mom, dad, and grandma did. It wasn’t until I grew up, went to college, joined the Air Force, and moved away from home that I realized how lucky I was. There are different variations of this recipe, but this one has been passed on to me from my Mom and I have modified it a tiny bit to make it a little healthier.  Usually this dish calls for pork belly… Instead, I use pork shoulder which has less fat on it.

The ingredients you’ll need:

  • 2 lbs pork shoulder
  • 1 can coco rico
  • 3 Tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 Tbsp Canola oil
  • 1.5 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 medium onion (diced)
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp coco caramel syrup (optional)
  • 5 boiled eggs
  1. Boil 5 eggs, peel, and set aside.
  2. Cut the pork up into 1″ pieces.
  3. Season the pork with 1.5 tsp salt and 1 tsp black pepper.
  4. Mix 3 cloves of garlic, 1 medium diced onion, and 3 Tbsp fish sauce in the pork. (I recommend using a spoon or glove to mix everything together. Fish sauce has a strong odor that you don’t want on your hands.)
  5. Heat up a heavy bottomed pan on medium and pour the oil and 1.5 Tbsp of sugar in and keep stirring until the sugar starts to caramelize. 
  6. Quickly pour the pork into the pan with the caramel and stir the pork around.
  7. Once the pork’s outer layer has been cooked, pour in the coco rico. The pork will foam, when this happens use a spoon to remove the foam. 
  8. Pour in enough water to cover the meat.
  9. Add 1 tsp of the coco caramel syrup and stir.
  10. Put a lid on and turn the heat down between low/medium and let the pork braise for 20 minutes.
  11. Place boiled eggs in and continue to cook for another 15-20 minutes.
  12. Serve over a hot bowl of rice and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Vietnamese Braised Pork and Eggs (Thit Heo Kho)

  1. Reina says:

    Thank you so much for sharing! My parents are Cambodian and they make this too, it’s one of my fav dishes. Since I haven’t been living w/ them, I’ve missed comfort foods like this growing up. I can’t wait to try your recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

